Day 4: Your parents

So four days into the challenge, and I already failed. I’m gonna cheat a little.

I realized that this is the only picture I have that I’m in with my parents… And it’s actually in a picture frame, so I had to re-take the picture with my camera…fail. I guess I’m not much of a photo guy in that even if I do take pictures, I don’t really do much about it. I see people with a bunch of photos of a lot of their friends or family members hung up in their rooms, but this is my only one. And I wouldn’t have even thought of it until my mom shipped it to me cause I forgot to take one after winter break :3

Parents….wow. If I think about it, being an only child, I received a lot of love from my parents. Not saying that children from big families don’t, but I got to spend a LOT of one-on-one time with one of them and definitely remember a fair share of memories of “just us three.” I guess before college, especially during my senior year, I was so excited to get out. So excited to leave my parents and all their nagging to go far away into a place more or less outside of their jurisdiction. But it’s been tough without them sometimes because they understand (for the most part) that I’m an adult now and that I should be making more decisions on my own. So they kinda let me be…Exactly what I wanted, but you never know what’s gonna happen around the corner, right?

But they’re always a call away. Seriously. Honestly, I sometimes ignore their phone calls because I’m sleeping or I’m really busy or I just don’t want to hear their nagging. And really, it’s all up to my choice. They’re not here physically to enforce contact. But whenever I have a question or I seek their opinion on something, they’re more than ready to talk to me. I guess it’s a parents’ love that I don’t understand…

I seriously love my parents more than anything or anyone. I’ve spent 18 years of my life living under one roof with them. I guess sometimes I do not see how much of a blessing it was to have this continuity. And of course, we had our share of problems. A lot actually. But through and through, we’ve stuck it out and made it this far. Nowadays, I’ve been told by so many others and can tell from my own interactions with them that my parents are really trying to give me more credit and more respect for my own thoughts, especially since I had such a hard time with my dad about this.

My dad never gave in for anyone, no matter what the argument was about, even if he was the one clearly in the wrong. This angered me so much because there was simply no justice sometimes. But even with that, I can tell he’s changed so much. He’s actually gotten quite emotional and kinda gets upset if I don’t call him everyday. At first I saw it as a burden, but now I can see that this is a type of father-son relationship that not everyone gets to enjoy. I should make use of it more and develop it.

My mom has always impressed me with her faith and always keeps me in her prayers. And she makes note of this continuously, almost to the point of where it’s like she’s telling me that I can’t screw up cause her and so many others are praying for me haha.. But seriously, my mother has one of the gentlest hearts I know. She tells me she only became tough and sharp-tongued after raising me (:

Out of sight, out of mind doesn’t quite work with them – and they make it point to prove that saying wrong. I love my parents so much.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

