oh, how technology connects us all

I’ve been feeling quite nostalgic these past few days. Namely, I’ve been thinking about this past summer when I went to Korea. It’s funny how you can feel so connected to a place you’ve visited and not even lived in. Maybe it is just the fact that I was able to pass through without experiencing any of the post-honeymoon effect that it seems so idyllic in my mind still…Well, I guess idyllic isn’t quite the word for it since there was a lot of not-so-goods that happened on my trip too, mostly concerning family issues. But hey, nothing is perfect right? And the three and a half weeks I spent there were pretty close.

Brandon and I about to watch "Inception" at Coex

Frankly, I probably enjoyed this time so much because I was able spend an extended period away from my parents. Yes, they are my parents, and I do love them (probably even more so now after learning to appreciate what they do for me), but there were certain elements of freedom that I’m sure most people my age can identify with. After all, it was a great adventure to a foreign place that was nothing like the places I was brought up in. I was able to do pretty much what I wanted to do. It was a freedom that I tried to use as liberally as possible because I never really had the chance or the right circumstances to do that in the states. Little did I know that college life would be pretty much me making my own decisions on a daily basis…except with a crapload of school work to do haha. Most importantly, it was a time period when I could find closure and move onto the next stage of my life. Plus, I got to hang out with good friends from both Washington and Korea. Which is good because now I realize I won’t be seeing them for awhile.

I feel like times of transition are an important part of our lives. They mark an end and a new beginning. It gives us time to think about what we’ve accomplished so far and what we have yet to achieve. But as the nature of transitions go, they are evanescent; almost like a limbo between the two places. Maybe that’s why they are remembered in a different light. It is an almost untouchable time of existence marked with a spirit of adventure that sets the tone for the next scene of your life. Others might think of it as a time when you’re neither this or that, an ambiguous state. But I like to think of it as a separate state all together where you can discover a new part of you that will influence your subsequent stages of development.

picture I took at a lotus pond in a Korean history museum

Today during chemistry, I decided to update all the applications on my iTouch. I haven’t done this in awhile, so I had about 26 updates to do! When I did that, I noticed the subway map application I used while I was in Seoul was among the applications that got updated. When I clicked on it, I saw that the application not only went an aesthetic change, but it also included a whole bunch of new functional changes as well. For one, the map of 구리, a nearby city I stayed in, was vastly improved. This would’ve saved me a couple embarrassing taxi rides when I paid the taxi driver to drive me somewhere within 5 minutes of walking distance (I didn’t know where the subway station was -.-). The coolest little addition though happened to be this location specific comment posting application. People who were at the station or nearby could post little tid-bits about their life or ask questions about the nearest restaurant and whatnot. I could post stuff using my iTouch too, which I happened to do. I wonder if anyone will respond to mine?

The thought of how technology connects us all is almost overwhelming. From this application, I almost felt like I was in Korea again. The subway schedules were there. I remembered rushing over to make it on time to a train passing by. My usual route into Seoul was so apparent. I always felt exhilarated, even though I took the same route almost everyday. Reading through all these posts was just like interacting with the regular commuters. Random bits of conversation going back and forth. The distance wasn’t there at all.

Rainy Day in 구리 (Guri)

I happened to check my email today. To my surprise and delight, I found an email from my aunt in Korea. This aunt took time out of her busy schedule and showed me around Seoul along with my older cousin. I really appreciate her for that because I would’ve completely missed some parts of Seoul without a guide native to all the districts and neighborhoods in the capital city. I’ve only talked with her once over the phone since coming back to the states, so it was great to get back in touch with her. She told me about her biking adventures (she recently learned to ride the bike) and updated me on how my cousins were doing. It was a refreshing string of anecdotes that connected me to her and the rest of my family there. The distance really wasn’t there at all.

My Lovely Aunt (=

All of this reminded me of how just like that time before, I am going through a similar transition period. How long it will last, I can’t determine. But I’m not in any hurry to rush the process. I’ll try to remain steadfast with my faith and see where it takes me.

  1. sup fag sweet wordpress

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

